Skip to content

Spoon carving 1st and 2nd

29/11/2009

So last week i made my first attempt at carving a spoon! I tried the coal burning way the first time, It did not go well!

 

 

 

The next day Sunday I started the second one!
sorry for the gap in pictures the camera was down!

This was after I had started the bowl hollowing with the new crooked knife!

Those are the only 2 tools I used in making this! The knife is a custom from GB by a friend Sticks65 a link to his creations can be found in my blog roll!

Sanded and waiting to be sealed!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/01/2010 17:48

    Love the work you did on the spoon, Doc. I’d love to give it a try. What are some wood types I should look to use?

    • 09/01/2010 17:57

      Both of those where seasoned maple. I really liked working with it! Birch is the main staple for wood work on kuksa’s and spoons and the like!

      I have some spaltted river birch seasoning to make some more spoons out of! Usually your hard woods are best as far as I have found! Due to pines sap adding a funny flavor! If you dont have a spoon knife (crooked knife) Bensbackwoods.com has the best prices for the mora ones! He will hand pick one if you call him or shoot him an email! I have dealt with him really great guy!

  2. 29/01/2013 10:41

    You made me laugh sir!

    Best regards,

    Novice spoonmaker

    http://mjvanderwielen.com/blog/

Trackbacks

  1. Handgesneden houten lepels – versie 1.0 | Randomness

Leave a Reply

