Skip to content

Attempt at my first sheath

20/05/2010

So I have had my custom Sticks65 bushcraft knife for about a year and a half and it has needed proper pants!

So I tried

my first sheath and well I bow to you guys that make these wonderful and beautiful leather sheaths!

SUPPOSED to be a belt sheath

BUT it decided not to be so!

SO stay tuned im re-working it as I type!

I learned allot from the folks over at the forum! here is the thread

http://bushcraftusa.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13557

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dustin permalink
    20/05/2010 09:53

    When you work with leather it certainly gives you an appreciation for those who make it look easy!

    Did you use simulated sinew for the stitches?

    It looks rustic – I would replace the 550 cord for leather cord to keep the bushcraft look.

    If you want your stitches to be dressed and even, you have to use a comb.

    Either way, good on you for giving it a go – once you start crafting your stuff you always relflect on anything you have wondering how it could be improved… đŸ™‚

  2. 20/05/2010 10:00

    Hey thanks!

    I did use Artificial sinew I like the3 look of it on leather. I used the straightest fork I had to mark the sew lines (I need a new one fork) It is my first and i like it kinda!

    Im doing some stuff to it right now to make it better and get it to where I want it to be! Ill post it here in a new one as soon as I get done!

Leave a Reply

