Skip to content

Day out(shelter build dead things and broken axe)

09/04/2011

I went out to get started on my debris shelter. I had a few things fail.

YouTube – broken buck saw attempt at making a bow saw.]

 

 

First off and this one PISSED ME OFF 3 swings in a dead and rotted tree and it flew off hit me in the thigh.

Second I broke one of the arms in half at the knot on it. that sucked but not as bad as the axe haft. no pics

WHAT THE HELL IS THIS

its about the size of a baseball growing around and out of the tree. the tree is a pine species I think hemlock.

and the remains of maybe a crow something took it apart there was a bobcat siting the other day so maybe found its lunch.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/04/2012 21:42

    You really have to check the grain before you hang an axe hey.

    • 03/04/2012 08:26

      Yea, So I have learned! Wish I had hung it myself. That dark area that gave it the nice character was rot. there were hollow channels underneath that you couldn’t tell till it snapped! Im saving up Julia from Wetterlings said she will send me a replacement that is marked with the old logo.

Leave a Reply

